Sunday Brunch

As I cooked pancakes and sausage for my family this morning, I started imagining how it would be great to be able to eat breakfast when it’s hot and not after everyone else has been served. I thought about how nice it would be to have my breakfast brought to me, and how good my husband and kids really have it. So this is a post on all of the restaurants that offer a special brunch menu in Lafayette. I won’t be reviewing these restaurants in this post because I been to them yet, but hopefully I will be able to review each of them in the near future.

Blue Dog Cafe

Blue Dog Cafe is a Cajun/Creole restaurant offering a large menu of good food ranging from Crawfish Enchiladas to Steaks. I have enjoyed several dinners here and have never been disappointed. Eating at Blue Dog Cafe is not just a meal, but it is an experience. The dining room is an art gallery showcasing several different George Rodrigue Blue Dog paintings. My favorite is the Blues Brothers one. They offer a special brunch menu and Cajun/Creole music every Sunday from 10:30 am- 2:00pm. This is a buffet brunch consisting of lots of menu items including Prime Rib, Crab Cakes Benedict, Belgian Waffles with toppings (yum!), and different selections of their main menu items. They also serve free mimosas. The price of the buffet is $22.95 for adults, $7.95 for children ages 6-12, and children 5 and under are free. The brunch gets really good reviews and it looks like it would be an overall great experience.

Cochon

Cochon-Lafayette is one of the newer restaurants in Lafayette. The original Cochon is located in New Orleans, LA and is a very popular restaurant. Cochon-Lafayette seems to be living up the precedent set by the original. They are well rated, and based on their Facebook page postings they are really offering some interesting cuisine. I haven’t tried Cochon-Lafayette yet, but it is definitely on my list. Every Sunday from 10:00am-2:00pm they offer a brunch with music and dancing. They have a special brunch menu with options like Beignets, Pulled Pork Benedict, and Pan Fried Catfish. This is not a buffet style brunch, and the prices on the menu range from $6.75-$16.75. There are not many reviews of the brunch that I have found, but the menu looks interesting and the price point is not too bad for good quality food.

Cafe Des Amis

Cafe Des Amis is a restaurant located in Breaux Bridge, LA, about 15 minutes or so from Louisiana. They serve French and Cajun/Creole cuisine. I haven’t eaten at Cafe Des Amis, but they are very highly rated and are a well respected restaurant in Acadiana. They offer breakfast Fridays and Saturdays from 7:30am- 11:00am, but on Sundays they offer a Zydeco Breakfast from 8:00am-2:00pm with a special menu and bands. The Sunday menu is huge with Shrimp and Grits, Pork Roast, Seafood Corn Bisque, and so much more. The entrees range from $13.00-$20.00, so they are a little more expensive than the other brunches that I’ve found. One thing that I found particularly cool is that they have a live Zydeco Breakfast camera on their website. This is an interesting way to be able to preview what brunch is like. If you are looking for something a little different and are willing to travel a little bit, this looks like a good option.

There are many very good restaurants in Lafayette that offer breakfast, but these are the ones that I have found that offer special brunch experiences. I hope to try these out soon and do reviews on each restaurant. Let me know if you know of any other places that offer a special brunch.

//

Leave a Reply

