LA strEAT

The LA strEAT food truck made their first appearance at the Food Truck Round Up today. According to their website, they are making street food with a gourmet twist. I was definitely impressed by the truck itself when I saw it today. The truck looks very nice, is huge, and even has a t.v. mounted on the outside for patrons to watch while waiting for their food.

IMG_3158

The menu that was offered at the round up today consisted of fried shrimp, an Asian shrimp wrap, an Ahi tuna wrap, a couple of burgers, a boudin grilled cheese sandwich, and pulled pork with Carolina style barbecue sauce which was the special. The prices ranged from $6.00-10.00.

The menu board did not describe most of the menu items, so I went out on a limb and ordered the Asian shrimp wrap which was $8.00. The ordering process was simple, and like all of the other food trucks that I have visited they took cash or credit cards. After ordering, I moved over to the side and watched ESPN on the t.v. I waited around 10 minutes or so for my food which was by far the longest that I had to wait at any of the trucks. After waiting for quite some time in the windy, cold weather I was really hoping the food would be worth it.

IMG_0972

The wrap consisted of grilled shrimp tossed in spicy mayo, lettuce, and tomatoes. Although it was smaller than I thought it would be, it was good. The spicy mayo had just enough heat, the shrimp tasted fresh, and the other ingredients complemented the shrimp well. The wrap was pretty tasty, but I’m not sure that it was really worth $8.00. It was comparable to a wrap that you’d find on a chain type restaurant’s menu with a little better flavors. If a side like fries or chips would’ve been included, the price would have been worth it.

So what is my overall opinion? The wrap, for what it was, was perfectly cooked and put together. After looking at their site and reading descriptions of some of the other items, I am intrigued by the combinations of ingredients. The Ahi tuna wrap with seared tuna, cucumber slices, spicy mayo, soy sauce, and wasabi mayo sounds really good. I am not sure how much this truck is out during the week, since this was the first that I had heard of them. It looks like they do more catering type events, but they do have a truck schedule on their site. If you are looking for a good lunch, and you see them around check them out.

Comments
One Response to “LA strEAT”
  1. Kaleigh says:

    Interesting. I don’t think I would want to pay $8 for just a wrap either. I love homemade kettle chips, so that would be a welcome addition to any dish.

Leave a Reply

